“Learn to light a candle in the darkest moments of someone’s life. Be the light that helps others see; it is what gives life its deepest significance.” – Roy T. Bennet

I Can’t

My little brother Silas is spoiled. We realized a little late that it’s not always good to give a crying kid what he wants.

So now, if he doesn’t get his way, he’ll scream and throw himself on the floor, or he’ll deny himself things, thinking that, if he can’t have his own way, then everyone will sympathize and give in.

Of course, he has his moments. Sometimes, he’ll come up to me, grab my arm, and start kissing it like a crazy person.

But, he still has issues. When it comes to brushing his own teeth, he starts screaming and yelling, “I can’t, I can’t!”

He can, obviously. He’s seven years old. He can brush his teeth.

(This is going to turn into some random life metaphor, I know it.)

Another thing, when we mentioned making him go without snacks for a week, once again, he started screaming, “I can’t, I can’t!”

These words cross my mind many times, are you kidding me?

I really don’t know where I’m going with all this, but, needless to say,

My first child better be a girl.

Comments on: "I Can’t" (3)

  1. The Immortal Dreaming Boy said:

    Funny : This is.

  2. i believe you should give him some tough love!! if he says he cant make him, if he gives a tantrum because he doesn’t get what he wants then let him throw himself on the floor and keep on doing that, when he sees that you are ignoring him he will stop, all that kids want is attention and if you deprive him of that attention when he is throwing a tantrum then he will realize it aint worth it..and believe me girls can be just as annoying..:-D

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

