“Learn to light a candle in the darkest moments of someone’s life. Be the light that helps others see; it is what gives life its deepest significance.” – Roy T. Bennet

i was playing in the sandbox

building castles that fell too quickly

i was humming to myself

and i heard a voice saying

“ready or not, here i come”

~

i am guilty of building my castles

when there you were, counting away

here i am, caught out in the open

no time to run

to my usual hiding place

~

can’t you see? i wasn’t ready

now go back home and count again

but fair is fair, you say to me

i’ve won where you have lost

and i want to play another game

~

disappointed i shake my fists

but sit down on the grass anyway

i swallow back my bitterness

and subject my hands

to a halfhearted patty cake 

Comments on: "Hide and Seek (Memories of My Childhood)" (1)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

