“Learn to light a candle in the darkest moments of someone’s life. Be the light that helps others see; it is what gives life its deepest significance.” – Roy T. Bennet

Awkward Moment #199

Pushing a stroller around town nearly every day is not something most people do. I run with it, walk with it, get groceries with it. My child rides front seat and I have to stop and go on his whims.

Anyway, today after an eight-mile run we had to get some bread. I stopped at my old place of work, Great Harvest Bread Co., to retrieve some sourdough. Now, pushing around a stroller has made me creative at opening doors. When heading out, I use my behind to push the door open and hold it open as I swing the stroller around to face it forward again. Sometimes a person jumps to hold to hold it open for me, but, honestly, I’m normally fine on my own.

So this little old man thought he would help me out today. I was already halfway through the door and he was on the other side of it. He asked which direction I was headed – left or right. I told him left and went to continue out. Then, for some odd reason, he went behind the door and because I was holding it open to get out, he ended up squishing his head between the open door and the wall behind it! I immediately removed pressure off the door and apologized, albeit a little confused. He stood there looking a little befuddled, and didn’t say anything, so I said sorry again and walked away quickly. I nearly laughed. but felt that would be rude since he was only trying to help. I honestly have no idea what he was trying accomplish by going behind the door that I was opening, though.

Sometimes pushing a stroller around town has its awkward moments.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

